The Links and influences Between My Personal Works and Artistic Movements

Thought-out this art course it has allowed me to expanded my knowledge in art and different ways of presenting it. In this unit I have learnt the history of art and the background of some, I have study some genres of art that weren’t consider as art or wasn’t “accepted” in the world back then. It’s interesting to see the difference in not only the use of techniques in the genres but also how it is seen more nowadays and see as “normal”.

I was introduced to many movements during this course, one of the first movements was Dadaism. This was interesting for me as it was the first movement that wanted to change the ways traditional art was and create various other methods of showing art. This was the start of most movements such as performance art and abstract art, which are the two the influenced my work. The main topic of arguemeantive piece was about how Performance art is linked to Abstract expressionism art. This allowed me to expand my knowledge of these two topics and go deeper in to research, I learnt that it is also related to Dadaism and Surrealism. Therefore I got to study those additional topics, which helped me with my artwork.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 6.49.24 pm.png  Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 6.49.38 pm.png

These four pieces were for a unit in my BTEC art course, the topic was on identity and these photos are people from a certain culture with their pattern projected on their back. This relates to my essay as I have used performance art to show my work. I wanted to explore the different ways other than painting hence why I decided to do a live show. The reason it links back to performance art is because it was a live piece, the audience was allowed to walk around these people while their background pattern was being projected on their bare backs.

Again I am linking back performance art and abstract art, as this would also be seen as abstract. Although the message might be more understanding in this piece the audience still has to think about it. Abstract art has influenced, as I wanted to evoke peoples thoughts and taking a risk by putting these people naked with only jeans on and projecting their culture on them, which might seem wrong or an insult towards the culture. This was me taking a risk because I wasn’t sure how the audience would react, however there was positive feedback but that was properly because performance art or abstract art is more accepted in this time.

There is a lot of Dadaism for the piece of mine as it is more of a contemporary or modern piece of work. It isn’t following the traditional way of art; it isn’t a form of painting but instead using actual humans as the final piece. I have chosen to use various ways of breaking away from traditional art although it can be nice at times.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 6.49.52 pm.png  Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 6.50.11 pm.png

Growing up in a divers cultured city such as Hong Kong allowed me to allowed me to expand my way of viewing art, this was because there was a lot of diversity in art that was realised to either abstract art and Dadaism. Overall learning about all these different movements have been interesting and played a huge role in my art work. I feel like these movements have allowed me to use various methods in showing art, without these movements I wouldn’t be able to make half my art as it wouldn’t be considered art or be accepted.

Leave a Reply

